Reminders

A dim light in the distance,
Echoing a sense of hope,
Reminding me of the life’s possibilities.
But the glow is muted by a dense and dizzying fog –
A daily haze that separates me from dreams.
My heart craves the light like my lungs crave the air.
Every inch of my body and all the corners of my soul
Yearn for the chance to be illuminated by that distant gleam,

Someday I will get there. Someday I must.
For today the light will burn in the background,
A reminder of how far I have yet to go,
A reminder of why I am willing to go so far.

Leave a Reply

