Of Days Gone By

Hearing your voice is
Billie Holiday’s soul.
Nat King Cole’s sincerity.
Etta James’ passion .
Louis Armstrong’s elation.

Seeing your smile is
Fred and Ginger’s
Graceful dance.
Bogart and Bergman’s
Witty banter.
James and Marylin’s
Tragic beauty.

Your spirit transcends time –
An old soul preserving
The elegant class of noir
In a world of technicolor.

Perhaps I’m living
In a romanticized dream,
But I beg of you, my love,
Do not wake me, because
Frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn.

Leave a Reply

