Tired

I am tired.
So very tired. And the world
Is a lullaby crooning me to sleep.
Try as I might to awake
From the daze, to march on,
To excel, to come face to face
With my irrepressible potential,
I bend to the weight
Of my darkly peaceful –
Peacefully dark – eyelids.

There’s a war inside, no end
In sight, for the sides are foolishly
Stubborn. For the serenity of sleep ,
The body. For curiosity of consciousness,
The mind. Neither budge, neither win.
Mind in love with being free
To escape the confines of reality.
Body without that luxury, desperate
To use the dark as an escape.
I am tired.

2 thoughts on “Tired

Leave a Reply

