The Mayhem of Now

I’ve seen the sun begin the morning
And watched it sink away to rest
After a day of fantastic ups and downs.

I’ve planted a seed secure in the Earth
And seen it sprout into food and flower
Braving the heat before a summer storm.

I’ve held someone softly on their first day
And been held by someone on their last
Knowing life’s fatal beauty lies in its mortality.

There’s a magic in the mayhem of now –
Somewhere between calm beginnings and ends.
Now in that mayhem – the beauty and bedlam –
I search for my own piece of the magic.

Leave a Reply

