At Once

You left me.
I wasn’t ready.
Anxiety and doubts –
Paling in comparison
To the painful sting
Of spending an instant
Without you in my sights –
Erased themselves swiftly,
Without trace of remorse,
From my very being,
As I followed your path
From my door to yours.

You left me.
I wasn’t ready.
So I came to you instead.
Opening the door without
The trouble of a knock
Knowing – somehow –
Fate was bringing us
Together in simple solitude
For a moment to become
A memory, safe for eternity
In the depths of my soul,
At the center of your spirit.

You left me.
I wasn’t ready.
I found your eyes at once,
No time to let mine linger
Anywhere but with your
Surprised counterparts.
A step.
Then another.
Continuing on
Until I reached you.
A vivid silence turned into
A roaring fog of confusion,

When your lips found mine at last,
New territory for us both to explore.
A newness so confusingly familiar.
And our forever began at once.

Leave a Reply

