Prescribed Melody

There’s a dance my soul has created
To escape my dreadful days,
One that darkens the background
And turns my spirit to rays.

For me alone the song plays,
As I move my body to joyful sounds,
Solitary in my graceful bliss
Wholly unashamed in the world around.

Presence of a palpable passion
For one reason or some other,
Causes my being to explode
Dancing beneath the rain and thunder.

All the time I’m dancing freely
To the melody prescribed to my heart,
I’m lifted above and beyond this body
Witnessing my life as a moment of art.

Leave a Reply

