To Just Be Yours

Strong and stubborn.
With independence engrained
When youth was cut short
By the sharp reality
Of the sad shortage of
Happily ever afters in life.

Strong and stubborn.
And focused on
Making the good the best
Seeing the future vividly,
Letting the present sweep by
Forgetting the miracle that it is.

But then you’re here.
Then your arms offer
A sanctuary from my
Strong and stubborn.

Surrendered and surrounded.
To your touch and by your rhythm,
The world is no longer nonstop,
And my piece of heaven pauses.
My air, my light, my shelter –
You encompass it all.

Surrendered and surrounded.
To your protection and by your presence.
Finding that my favorite place
Is the only place where my
Strength and stubbornness disappear.
And I am grateful for the freedom

To just be yours.

Leave a Reply

