Being All Me

Being all me.
At once, for always.

Five, dressed
As Snow White,
Marrying Daddy
With a living room
Of amused guests.

Twelve, acting
A know-it-all,
Knowing the only
Thing I know is
I’m out of my depth.

Fourteen, walking
Hallways, head down,
Feeling the weight
Of freshman year and
Innocence still intact.

Eighteen, falling
Into my own rhythm,
Falling further still
Into a first love,
Finding first can be true.

Twenty-two, confused
But with a degree,
Wondering, do I
Have to be an adult?
Where’s daddy’s hand?

Twenty-five, coming
To terms with this me,
Becoming a solid sketch
Of the person meant
To live the life ahead.

And this me is that me,
Built of tiny memories.
Built of pieces of a girl,
Changed by time,
By love, by loss.

But still that girl
In a Snow White dress
Who knows it all,
Who shies away until
Love catches her eye.
The girl, utterly lost,
But loving every moment.

 

In response to The Daily Post’s weekly writing challenge: “Ice, Water, Steam.”

2 thoughts on “Being All Me

  1. Pingback: This January – a new journey with a new identity | Timepass

  2. Pingback: Past, Present and Future: Learning & Mistakes | Ramisa the Authoress

Leave a Reply

