It’s About Time, Laura.

Talk about being late to the party. I started this blog over a year ago and have yet to introduce myself in any real way. At first, I thought this blog was just going to be a place to organize poetry and other writings. I wanted a space where I could house my writing without feeling self-conscious about it, so I only wrote a brief “About Me” page and clung on to the safety of anonymity.

It’s been refreshing to share my work for a change. It is less about people liking what I’ve written and more about the fact that my words are actually being read. Knowing that whatever I want to get across is reaching other people is a huge motivator in putting forth the effort needed to grow as a writer. I’m deeply appreciative of those who take the time to read my poetry and stories and therefore help me become a better writer in the long run.

Now let’s take that logic and move it to a bigger scale. If sharing my work leads to becoming a better writer, wouldn’t sharing my life lead to becoming a better human being? I know, pretty gigantic leap. But I’m a very philosophical person. I like to think, and I like to think big.

But I’m also a shy person. I’m pretty introverted, although those who know me best surely wish I would pipe down more often. Anyways, what I am trying to get at is that I have just as many thoughts I want to share as stories I want to write. Some may be thought provoking. Others will probably resemble rambling rants more than anything. Either way, I have something to share, so why not share it? Perhaps nobody will give a hoot, but that’s not the point now, is it? The point is to share myself the way I have shared my writing because through sharing myself I will learn to grow.

So that’s why I’m here, in a nutshell. A rather large nutshell, but that’s me. And this is also me.

Welp, here I am.

Welp, here I am.

I’m Laura. I’m a 20-something Millennial. I’m a live-in nanny residing in the family’s extra bedroom, which is full of everything I own. I’m about to graduate with a Masters in Publishing. I have no idea how to get a job with a Masters in Publishing. This is my life.

3 thoughts on “It’s About Time, Laura.

Leave a Reply

